Day 2 Luck Has Nothing to Do With It 

It’s one of those things that you worry a lot about when you’re packing. “Will I die because I don’t have enough low treatment on me?”  or “will I have to go to the hospital if someone steals my insulin bag?” 

I found answers to these questions while taking the “Johnny Swift” ferry across the Irish Sea.  

  1. As we were crossing the Irish Sea on the “Johanthon Swift” I had a lot of time to kill. It’s times like these where boredom forces me to discover things that I didn’t know. The cafe on the passenger deck served all sorts of coffee and drinks, but I wasn’t planning on buying anything. Across from the stand were the cream and sugar. Then I had a great yet obvious idea. “Here are all these sugar packets and I might need them at some point”. I took 10 nonchalantly and put them in my pack for later. Each pack is around a table spoon of sugar and a table spoon of sugar is approximately 4g of carbohydrates. That’s equivalent to a glucose tab. Lesson learned: sugar is everywhere, take some without a single thought of embarassment. 
  2. At the very end of our passage across the sea, one of the service crew members made an announcement that I’ve have never heard before. “…if there any passengers on board who have humalog insulin, please report to the service desk”. My first thought: “I lost my insulin bag and it is at the service desk!” But I checked my bag and there was my insulin bag, so it couldn’t be that.it turned out that a middle aged man needed some insulin because he had left his pen elsewhere. I offered mine, but because he was a pen user he took help from another family whose son uses the pen. It was really eye opening. I suddenly realized that I’m not the only diabetic in Europe! It wasn’t just luck that we were there to help this man. It’s reality and a its blessing.  Diabetes is a fairly common disease and everyday abroad I learn how willing people are to help you through it. 
Leave a Reply

